Unbalanced 3 Phase Panel Calculations

thesink79

New User
Occupation
Pre-Construction Coordinator
To preface this, I am totally new to the electrical world. I graduated college last summer and started as a drafter/designer with an electrical contractor. We use an excel based calculator to general panel schedules and their calculations. When it accounts for the base load of the panel instead of taking a sum of the VA on each phase it multiplies the largest phase by three. In panels that are well balanced there is not much of a difference. However in panels that are not balanced and cannot be balanced because of large loads this can create a large difference in overall VA and then AMPS. Here is an example of a panel that is balanced the best I could get it but still not balanced:

Line 1: 6,218 VA
Line 2: 8,320 VA
Line 3: 4,990 VA

Largest Line Load X 3: 24,960

Sum of Lines: 19,524 VA that's a 22% difference on top of a 20% factor of safety applied later in the calculator, it seems overcalculated for unbalanced systems.

I am trying to find out where in the code or the reasoning behind taking the largest load x 3.

I get that its basically auto balancing on the largest load but where in the code does it say we need to do that or what the practical reason other than a safety factor?

I asked the owner of the calculator and his answer for me was "The ampacity of the largest load on a single conductor determines the conductor size per NEC requirements". Is he saying we determine our overall load on a panel based on the conductor size and that the conductor size is based on the largest line load? Is that correct?

Thanks for the help.

wwhitney

Occupation
Retired
. . .

Largest Line Load X 3: 24,960

Sum of Lines: 19,524 VA that's a 22% difference

. . .