Under Cabinet Low Voltage Lighting

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectricianJeff

I just finished roughing in a complete kitchen remodel. Homeowner has now decided he wants under cabinet low voltage lighting. I have never done this before so I am looking for some assistance and suggestions.

The kitchen is directly above the service in the unfinished basement. No drywall yet. I'm looking at 4 fixtures total switched at one location. I'm thinking I should run and coil the wire about where the lights will go. Let the cabinet guy dig out the wires and bring through the lower lip of the cabinets. Transformers would land near or on the service panel below.

Am I headed the right direction on this? Any tips, tricks, sugestions would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

electricianjeff

iwire

Staff member
ElectricianJeff said:
Am I headed the right direction on this? Any tips, tricks, sugestions would be appreciated.

Any of the wiring you run concealed must be a wiring method found in chapter 3 of the NEC.

In other words NM, AC, MC, EMT, FMC etc.

You can not run the cable that comes with the lights concealed.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
And furthermore, how would you terminate the Chapter 3 wire method to a low volt (assume you mean puck) light. If it is concealed then the slice is concealed and not in a box. I believe that is a violation, esp. since the ones I use don't have chapter 3 wire attached to the fixture but use fixture wire.

stickboy1375

IMO, use a fixture with a transformer built in, like these.....

NSL_Copyrighted_Image_xenon_task_app1.jpg

http://www.nslusa.com/xenontask.html

ElectricianJeff

Thanks for the replies and the link is quite helpful also.

I was thinking that since it was "low voltage" I could run the wires concealed, transformers in exposed areas underneath kitchen and wires terminated in the fixtures themselves. i.e. Doorbells