Underground power 600v grounding

Status
Not open for further replies.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Every medium voltage distribution system I have ever worked on has some type of grounding connection at every pole or every 500' or so.
I recently had do groundrods for a POCO transformer vault I was setting for them.
I am no expert but I'd look at that NEC 110.10
110.10 has nothing to do with grounding electrodes of any type.

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design
110.10 has nothing to do with grounding electrodes of any type.
Your right, it just says the OCPD has to be able to clear a fault.
Say that hand hole is submerged in salt water and a splice fails to ground.
Is the OCPD 800' away going to trip?

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design
I would think a groundrod would help the fault current get back to the OCPD and clear it.
Say you had 600V 60A OCPD ground fault 800' away, breaker would never trip in my opinion.
But like I said I am no expert.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I would think a groundrod would help the fault current get back to the OCPD and clear it.
Say you had 600V 60A OCPD ground fault 800' away, breaker would never trip in my opinion.
But like I said I am no expert.
how would a ground rod trip it if the EGC was broken?

Suppose one had a ground fault. That would be 347 V to N/G. To trip a 60 A OCPD reliably would require maybe 100 Amps. That would be about 3.5 Ohms. The chance of getting a 3.5 Ohms connection through a single ground rod at each end is nil.

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design
how would a ground rod trip it if the EGC was broken?
Who said EGC is broken?
Ground rod is bonded to ecg with cad weld in my scenario.
Suppose one had a ground fault. That would be 347 V to N/G. To trip a 60 A OCPD reliably would require maybe 100 Amps. That would be about 3.5 Ohms. The chance of getting a 3.5 Ohms connection through a single ground rod at each end is nil.