Up front pricing

OK Sparky 93

Occupation
Electrician
For all that practice or utilize flat rate or upfront pricing what ever we want to call it. Especially those that have created their own.

I have been using one for a few months now. I know I am not thinking about every single minute that goes it to establishing a labor unit for a given task for service work. And I am not sure if I could establish my own flat rate pricing based on what I am currently using.

For example; To replace a double pole GFCI breaker has a a labor unit of 1.5 hours. Probably, if I am counting the time leaving the home office and waiting in the supply house, driving to the job, doing the job, invoicing and getting back to the office. Hell I might have more than that.

But then to have a material allowance for less than $60, and there is no way I can get a 2 pole breaker for that. I cant even get a single pole for less than that.

How do you price a task that like that?

I am not carrying around $200 breaker or several that I don't move often enough. whether I did or I didn't I know the time needs to be accounted for. But Shouldn't the materials be properly priced?

Time is time and parts are parts.

Another question!
Out of a whole slew of items/cost that could be construed as indirect cost, some being You have to have and some being you'd like to have.

Is your truck a want or a need, what would be a proper $ to allow in your OH? And do you allow for a high mileage replacement or a higher dollar replacement?

Do you as a single man even if you may or may not grow to have other techs, include an owners salary, lets say equivalent to what you would pay a tech in your OH?

What about allowing for retirement, or possibly as crappy as it may be health insurance, and any other fringe benefits?

What ever cost you deem is necessary, to make it worthwhile, now as a service tech, how many actual hours do you estimate actually getting you hands dirty?

Is there anything I am forgetting?