Upcoming interview as a NYC DOB Electrical Inspector

Status
Not open for further replies.

lisagauss

I have an interview with the DOB in NYC as an electrical inspector. Ive always wanted to be an inspector, I have 8 years experience in teaching the National Electrical Code and 3 years experience hands on as an electrician. I have a Bachelor's degree in EE. I am planning on reading up on city electrical codes to brush up on their changes. Could anyone here give some recommendations on how to do well on my interview? I'm thinking they will ask a bunch of code questions, what would be the best way to answer should I not know the answer? Which sections/articles of the NEC should I pay more attention to during my review?

cowboyjwc

Staff member
I do a lot of oral boards, and I always say, if you don't know the answer, then say so. The guys on the other side of the table, usually three, probably have a good idea pretty quick that you don't know the answer. They asked me a question (don't remember what it was exactly) and I told them "I don't know the answer, but I know where the table is that has the answer."

If the board is done like they are done everywhere I have been, then they will ask all of you the same questions. I have sat on boards where there are clear top guys and I have sat on boards where the whole field may have been separated by a couple of points and I was glad that I didn't have to make that decision. Also if it is a job as an electrical inspector, then you have already got through the screening process it sounds like, but remember that you are probably competing against some guys that are already inspectors.

Just do the best you can and use it as a learning experience. Good luck.

retire09