UPS shutting down during generator test

Status
Not open for further replies.

alan mcneil

I am an electrician at a very large facility with multiple buildings and emergency generators for each building.
Recently we have had reports that the ups systems have been shutting down during generator test days in one particular building.
We have the same generators with the same computerized equipment in other building at this facility and they have no problem with the ups.
At this point in time I have no particular information about this problem.
I am going to start trouble shooting, any idea's, insights or past experiences with similar problems would be helpful to me before I begin my troubleshooting.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
Re: UPS shutting down during generator test

The ups and the generator are not getting along.
What I would start with is to find out if the UPS has monitoring software you can run on a laptop. check the configuration and then run the generator, see why the UPS is shutting down.

catchtwentytwo

A few questions to ask:

1. What is being done for the generator test, is it a utility failure test?

2. What size and brand of UPS? Static or rotary?

3. Is there any interlocking between the generators and the UPS system? Usually there is.

4. Did this just start happening after the system worked "correctly" for a while? If it did, what has recently changed? Did the load increase?

5. Was the building/system commission tested? Is there any start-up documentation from the UPS manufacturer?

[ September 13, 2005, 08:44 PM: Message edited by: catchtwentytwo ]

dereckbc

Staff member

Very common problem, and most often very expensive to correct and is a result from a lack of engineering design as Ron has eluded too with his questions. In order to work together you need to have at least two of the following design criteria, preferable all 3

1.The generator to UPS KW ratio should be 2-to-1.