USE OF LICENSE, Fair Percentage ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hugh6177

So I worked for a company 15 years (got my apprentice card @ 14, been with them since age 17). A year ago I quit and moved two hours away to pursue selling electrical tools full time on Ebay, [Seller:electricdealsforyou, just FYI ;) ] as I had been doing that for 3+ years on the side. It appears there is a shortage of electricians in the area I moved to, and I would like to pick up some of those jobs under their license. Long story short; these guys are like family to me, and I want to treat them right. We have already batted this back and forth, and they are open to the idea, but I want to give them an actual proposal. What do you feel would be a fair percentage of the PROFIT on a job for using a license; IF THEY ARE NOT SHARING IN THE LOSSES? IE, I assume the bidding risks, their only 'risk' would be liability/office expenses for handling permits? I guess I should add that these jobs would be one man jobs, ie residential/pole barns/panel changeouts/etc. And yes, I could get my master's and EC, but this isn't my primary income and I just don't want the headache...

Last edited:

John120/240

these guys are like family to me, and I want to treat them right. We have already batted this back and forth, and they are open to the idea, but I want to give them an actual proposal. What do you feel would be a fair percentage of the PROFIT on a job for using a license; IF THEY ARE NOT SHARING IN THE LOSSES? IE, I assume the bidding risks, their only 'risk' would be liability/office expenses for handling permits? I guess I should add that these jobs would be one man jobs, ie residential/pole barns/panel changeouts/etc. And yes, I could get my master's and EC, but this isn't my primary income and I just don't want the headache...