Voc VS Vmp in string sizing, temperature coefficient and 690.7

Status
Not open for further replies.

james391

Hey there, long time lurker, first time poster.

I've been working in solar for a while, but I've been doing exclusively microinverter based systems for the last 5 years or so and will admit to being a bit rusty on everything else at this point. Guess I've gotten spoiled with this plug-and-play stuff.

I've currently got a project to set up a DC system, which isn't a big deal for me to brush up on, but am having to defend my design decisions with the property owner. Basically, he is pressing why we design around the Voc of the panels when doing our temperature coefficient calculations and selecting our string size. Quoting code hasn't really answered his questions, and I don't really know WHY the code is as it is. Perhaps you guys could help me beef up my knowledge here and put the discussion to bed.

His position is that the open circuit voltage should not be relevant, because there is no current in that state, and if we keep our temperature corrected Vmp below the inverter max input voltage (600V) then that should be fine. If we run the numbers in that way, we can add some panels to the string and therefore reach our inverter startup voltage earlier and make better power in the hot summer months when the voltages will tend to run low. I get why he wants it to be his way, but I've always treated it as a hard limit regardless of if I like it or not.

So, assuming for the moment that you could even get a permit for such a thing....what's the worst that could happen? What are the risks of having too high of a voltage in an open circuit state if the operating voltage stays within the limits? Basically...why is this the way we do it?

Never really questioned it until now, so I'm happy to learn something here and hopefully go into the next conversation armed with some more information. Thanks.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer