What are rules for double-tapping breakers

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonype

I am a home inspector and often see double tapped breakers in panels. My working knowledge of this is the following:

1. Square D is the only manufacturer that designs breakers to support 2 wire connections.
2. The rated load from both circuits cannot exceed 80% of the breaker rating.
3. Double-tapping increases the risk of nuisance trips (mainly due to violation of Item 2).
4. Double-tapping is generally looked upon as a deficiency.

I hope to get some clarification because occassionally an argument develops when I call this a defect. What other things should I be aware of?

Thanks in advance for anyones help.

Tony

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: What are rules for double-tapping breakers

Tony, 1 through 4 are all false.

#1 Cuttler Hammer also makes breakers identified for use with two conductors.

#2 How do you know the loads are continuous. A breaker can be loaded to 100% for 179 min 59 sec.

#3 Just plain false

#4 Just plain false. In laying out a circuit it may be advantageous to shorten the overall conductor length by leaving in two directions from the panel, and if the breakers are listed for two conductors, why waste a junction box?

Roger

[ September 26, 2005, 02:23 PM: Message edited by: roger ]

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems

1. I would not make such a blatant statement. Cutler-Hammer CH 15-30A breakers are listed for (2) #14-10 conductors.
2. All breakers need to be sized to carry 100% of any non-continuous load plus 125% of any continuous load.
3. Any breaker will experience nusiance trips if rule 2 is not followed. Double tapping is no more of a culprit than running a single conductor to a junction box and then making the "double tapping".
4. Why?? When used correctly it can eliminate a junction box/point.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer