Where is a grounding pigtail necessary

Status
Not open for further replies.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
It's required when using a metal box with a receptacle that is not self-grounding. A self-grounding GFCI receptacle does not require one.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Hey I'm an electrician in NYC and was wondering except gfci where else is a grounding pigtail necessary
Welcome to the forum.

If you're asking what I think you're asking, the answer is "everywhere", not just for GFCIs.

The rule effectively says that the EGC pathway can't be interrupted by disconnecting a device.

The electron man

Occupation
Electrician
Welcome to the forum.

If you're asking what I think you're asking, the answer is "everywhere", not just for GFCIs.

The rule effectively says that the EGC pathway can't be interrupted by disconnecting a device.
First thanks for the warm welcome

What do you mean by ?

(interrupted by disconnecting a device)

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Theoretically by removing a self grounding switch or receptacle from the box that it's mounted to.

-Hal
The intent of 250.148(B) is that the removal of the device does not interrupt the continunity of the EGC to any down stream devices. It is not intended to apply the way you have described it. The language in 300.13(B) for the grounded conductor is better.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
First thanks for the warm welcome

What do you mean by ?

(interrupted by disconnecting a device)
Imagine a receptacle with two grounding terminals. They used to have them, but kept the rule after they stopped making them.

As mentioned above, the same thing applies to the neutral in a MWBC, even though they added the rule requiring handle ties.

synchro

Occupation
EE
1 how would I know if its self-grounding