Wood inside of a junction box

Occupation
Engineer
I am an engineer tasked with a final inspection for a village located electrical system in remote Alaska. I believe this to be a violation but am finding it hard to find a reason why it is a violation or a code reference to support my theory. Two thoughts are that it is a combustible material in a junction box. Another thought would be the wood isn't UL listed for the use. Any help would be grateful.

Capture.JPG

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
For one it violates this section:

376.56(B)(4) Live Parts.
Power distribution blocks shall not have uninsulated live parts exposed within a wireway, whether or not the wireway cover is installed.

HEYDOG

I am an engineer tasked with a final inspection for a village located electrical system in remote Alaska. I believe this to be a violation but am finding it hard to find a reason why it is a violation or a code reference to support my theory. Two thoughts are that it is a combustible material in a junction box. Another thought would be the wood isn't UL listed for the use. Any help would be grateful.

View attachment 2565680
I would go to Article 110!

yesterlectric

Occupation
Electrician
I’ve seen wood being used to hold wires in troughs and boxes before but I’ve never seen this! Did you have to travel some crazy voyage to this remote village just to do this inspection? Was it like eight hours of travel?

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design
That looks interesting and creative.
They need a insulated mole or 'tap block'
Is it a neutral bar?

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
I do see the blue tape, but gotta ask, Is this a GEC grounding bar?

macmikeman