Working Space around transformers

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve66

Occupation
Engineer
Does the working space in Article 110.26 apply to transformers? Would a 480V panelboard across the isle from a 480 to 208 transformer require 4' between them? Also, do the working space requirements apply to the sides of the transformer? If not, how much space would required on the sides to run conduit in and pull wire (aren't transformers usually fed with a LB into to side?) I am laying out an electrical room, but I'm not an electrician, and I'm not sure how the connections to transformers are usually made.

Finally, can the transformer be backed right up aginst a wall, or does it need breathing room behind it?

bennie

Esteemed Member
Re: Working Space around transformers

The only working space required is 110.26. The dimensions in Table 110.26(A)(1), do not apply.

For clearance of a ventilated dry transformer, refer to manufacturers specs. Generally, space on the sides and back is not required. The enclosure should not touch the walls. Vibration noise can be commuted to the structure.

bennie

Esteemed Member

Because a transformer does not require working while energized.

dcsva@aol.com

Bennie, I know that you have a whole lot more experience than me.
But in my opinion, a "Floor Mount" transformer is "Likely to require examination" while energized and thus the table would apply.

[ July 25, 2003, 03:38 PM: Message edited by: dcsva@aol.com ]

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems

Almost all ventilated dry-type "floor" mount transformers require rear air flow spacing. In some cases it is as little as three inches, however you can never go wrong with 6" of space.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

Originally posted by dcsva@aol.com:But in my opinion, a "Floor Mount" transformer is "Likely to require examination" while energized and thus the table would apply.