WYE X WYE Transformer

Tunneldigger

Occupation
Farmer
New here, son is a electrician, but I am a farmer / plant maintenance. My other son is a farmer as well.
My electrician son doesn't know and I am having a electrician do the work. I do want to understand whats going on.
My son is putting up a Schivers dryer system all 480. Control voltage will be 120.
The power company says to go to 208 3 phase for the shop and the single phase circuits I need a Wye x Wye transformer. They say that they don't have Delta. I can find Delta x Wye transformers all day long but the Wye x Wye is problematic. He just wants 480 for bin stuff and 208/120 for control and shop usage.
Thanks for any help in understanding this!

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
We'll allow this question since there is an electrician doing the work.

Sounds like there is a 3Ø, 208Y/120 volt service and you also need 480? Why do you think that you need a Wye-Wye transformer? A 3Ø, 208 volt Wye-Delta would give you a 3Ø, 480 volt, 3-wire Delta output. A 208 volt Delta-Wye would give you a a 3Ø, 480Y/277 volt output.

Tunneldigger

Occupation
Farmer
The power company says that is what is needed. I am just trying to understand. I was talking to a vendor about the transformer and he said the only time he has ever seen a Wye by Wye is in a feedback application. Something like a private net metering solar or wind application. This project is just starting. I have a pretty good grasp on plant maintenance type stuff and work with our plant electrician. He doesn't know why they want this.
The power company guy is gone this week and my contractor is busy too.

Tunneldigger

Occupation
Farmer
I guess I should also say it is a 480 service and the step down transformer is after meter so that is ours. It looks like a 45 kva is big enough for the shop and 15kva for control voltage. The shop is 220 feet from the main panel so to keep voltage up at shop we want use 480.

infinity

Staff member