Does a 208v plug need a neutral?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikeyv

Hello all, I'm new here. Not sure if I'm posting in the correct section so forgive me if I'm not. I'm a 1st bracket union apprentice and have a couple questions in regard to a 208v or 240? I'm working on a commercial project (most of what we do is commercial/industrial) with a 3 phase 120v/208v system. Friday I was "making" up receptacles and ran across one of the plugs needing to be the top symbol that resembles a peace sign on the blueprint.

1) when working with a 3 phase system, is the plug to be 208v instead of 240v?

2) when "making up" the wires, does it need a neutral for the plug? I know it gets 2 legs for that roundhouse. I know a 240v residential plug does not need a neutral.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Most 3 phase systems are 208 but there is a 3 phase delta that is 240V.

In terms of the receptacle. They can be straight 208 single phase, 3 phase or single phase 208 with a neutral or 3 phase with a neutral.

mikeyv

In terms of the receptacle. They can be straight 208 single phase, 3 phase or single phase 208 with a neutral or 3 phase with a neutral.

Hey Dennis, thanks for getting back to me. I'm still not sure how to make that box up then. Like I said, the print showed a symbol with a circle and inside was a peace sign. Tried to pasta picture here, but it was a .tiff file that is not supported. It needed two circuits but not sure if it needed a neutral. My main question is that: does this 208v plug need a neutral?

Thanks,

Mike

mikeyv

Hey Dennis, thanks for getting back to me. I'm still not sure if the box I was going to make up needed a neutral - it is 3 phase and needed two circuits for the hots. As I said, on the print it had a circle with something resembling a peace sign inside - would have posted an image but all i could find was a .tiff file that is not supported.

Thanks,

Mike

Smart $