SABC Load

Status
Not open for further replies.
Does the code prohibit installing the waste disposal on the SABC? In practice, I would not do it but I am an inspector and I see numerous attempts to save money and this would save the cost of a individual circuit.

Code References please.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Does the code prohibit installing the waste disposal on the SABC? In practice, I would not do it but I am an inspector and I see numerous attempts to save money and this would save the cost of a individual circuit.

Code References please.
SABC cannot be on the circuit with a disposal. Read 210.52(B)(1&2)

The Disposal is a fixed appliance and so are some microwaves, toasters, mixers and wine coolers. The issue is not addressed in the code as to whether or not is fixed or portable. The real issue is the load on the circuit. As far as that goes we have a Mr. Coffee and frying pans that are not fixed and they certainly are a large load. I see nothing in the code that prohibits putting the disposal on the SABC.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
The Disposal is a fixed appliance and so are some microwaves, toasters, mixers and wine coolers. The issue is not addressed in the code as to whether or not is fixed or portable. The real issue is the load on the circuit. As far as that goes we have a Mr. Coffee and frying pans that are not fixed and they certainly are a large load. I see nothing in the code that prohibits putting the disposal on the SABC.
George, where are you going to install this recep.?? If you are going to install it under the sink then it is a violation if it is on the SABC. If you direct wire it it is stilla violation. I showed you the article and it is pretty clear.

RUWired

if a disposal is just plugged inthe walloutlet when needed i don't see a problem, but if it is controlled by a switch in the wall, the switch would not be listed in 210.52(B)1.

Rick

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation