USE-2 in PVC Schedule 40 conduit

Status
Not open for further replies.

th111447

Hi-

I was planning on running 1/0 URD from my house to my pole barn located 125 ft away to install a sub-panel in the barn. I've dug the trench and there is a lot of rock so I'd like to put it in conduit. I'm not an electrician and plan to have my friend (Certified Master Electrician) hook up the sub-panel in the main. I was trying to save money by digging the trench and laying the conduit. My electrician said they did it for years and never had any issues but I've been reading things stating that you should not. My question is, is it ok to put USE-2 wire in PVC Schedule 40 conduit?

I really want to put the wire in conduit and I'm debating on taking it back and getting XHHW but I like the fact of using URD and conduit better. Your advice is much appreciated.

th111447

So you don't see any issues with putting the USE-2 in Rigid Non-Metallic conduit? To be specific, the wire has the stamped on it:

"Alcan B 110 AWG AL XLPE USE-2 SUN-RES"

I'm glad to hear you don't see any issues with it. Other items I've read seem to state it does not meet code. Look forward to more feedback.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
I agree, no problem with putting USE in RNC or any conduit if the applicable conduit or cable article doesn't prohibit it.

In this case article 338 doesn't nor does 352.

352.22 Number of Conductors
The number of conductors shall not exceed that permitted by the percentage fill specified in Table 1, Chapter 9.
Cables shall be permitted to be installed where such use is not prohibited by the respective cable articles. The number of cables shall not exceed the allowable percentage fill specified in Table 1, Chapter 9.

Roger

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
If you are going to go underground in conduit use regular wire rated for wet areas.

If you want to use underground cable of some sort, don't waste time and money with conduit of any kind.