Another Clueless Customer

Status
Not open for further replies.

lefty

Focus on the customers you want

Focus on the customers you want

Focus on the customers you want, you can usually tell after 15 minutes if this is a job that you want or not. Only you know how to run your business and the type of customer you want, this is a very successful way to get to the customers you want buy eliminating the ones you don't want. Stay focused on your type of customers, leave converting people to the professionals, (ministers). You stay focused on the very few people that understand what you do and want you to do it.

MNWildcat

As an EE and a home owner, I can see both sides of this issue. But in my work, I have had a lot of experience dealing with bad contractors - nickel/diming, high change order costs, cutting corners. I know there are great contractors out there, but I have burned too many times, so I am very cautious dealing with any contractors at work and at home.

There are countless examples on the forum of bad work, so how is a home owner to know for sure that the contractor they hire is good? Electrical work is definitely one of those trades that is over most home owners heads, so they can easily feel overwhelmed or taken by some contractors. There are several trades like this, any contractor type, a mechanic, insurance salesman; can all take advantage of customers because they do not understand the trade (and may be ?clueless?) and it is their prerogative to make sure whomever they hire is legit and good.