AL Conductors & Use of anti-oxident

Status
Not open for further replies.

zappy

"assumption..sumption...whats yo function"? Hey ,I just noticed the first 3 letters in that word! Never really thought about it! I think there is a reason for using anti-oxidant on aliminum conductors, just seems like over-kill on a temp install, and to demand that it be used is a little over the top!!:)

If I was a inspector, and I left a job without finding one violation I would feel like, well I don't know what I would feel like. I don't think it wouldn't be good though.

Last edited:

cowboyjwc

Staff member
If I was a inspector, and I left a job without finding one violation I would feel like, well I don't know what I would feel like. I don't think it wouldn't be good though.

You feel like you're dealing with a good contractor who knows his stuff.:grin:

The saying in our office is "it's much easier to sign the job card than write a correction notice."

glene77is

Interesting, you remove and re-torque without trimming?
IMO that is not a great way to go. :smile:

iWire,

I understand that the NEC may not "require" anti-oxide, in general. Having repaired alum wire fire damage (as you probably have also), I don't enjoy the damage caused, and protential for fire.

Here is my method (derived from the Aronstein website):
(1) remove the connector,
(2) re-dip,
(3)
(a) scrape off with pliers,
(b) cutting into the anodized alum oxide
(c) pulling anti-ox directly into the fresh surface.

I've tried to read everything there is about this subject