At what point would you become un-glued?

Status
Not open for further replies.

K2X

I'm an apprentice electrician now but in a former life I was a GC and superintendent.

Soo two weeks ago we go to start the electrical on a 10,000 ft retail parts store and the roof decking is only about half on but the super wants the lights hung, so a couple of guys start the service and a couple of guys start hanging fluorescent strips from the bar joists. Well there is snow on the metal roof decking and by 2 o'clock it is like raining inside now with icicles on the fixtures, ice on the lifts, and ice on the floors and all the trash from the other trades frozen to the floor. So we're kinda on and off there for the next week but no attempt has been made to remove the ice from the floor. So we're driving over ice, some new snow, and trash, slipping around on the lifts, chewing up the tires on the lift, etc etc. By afternoon the ice is just starting to melt a little on the top making it extra slick. Well so the last two days I'm trying to lay out the more complicated lighting where the fixtures hang at angles over shelf areas etc and of course I can't snap any lines on the icy floor and I can't get my laser to sit level on the floor without chipping out a spot for it. Then yesterday afternoon the young apprentice is carrying a bundle of pipe and slips on the floor and is limping worse and worse for the rest of the afternoon. I suspect he won't be working for at least a few days next week, maybe longer.

In my day a GC was responsible for removing ice snow, and trash from the interior of a building so the trades could do their job.

I was known to pop my cork occasionally but now that I'm older I try not to do that. Giving the the above circumstances do you think coming unglued would be justified?? I really don't want to make trouble for my boss.

Sparky555

OSHA is probably the one to call, but then you don't want to make trouble for your boss. I guess you don't mind who gets hurt.