Clamp Accessibility Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwired

Electron manager
Is that actually enforced that way in your area?

So, moving on to the CSST, I do not see a code requirement for a clamp bonding CSST to be accessible. Am I missing it?

It has been said that the CSST fittings are required to be accessible - in the apartment I am in, they are about to conceal a ton of them. Can you cite that reference?

I am not an expert on gas codes, but that is what I have observed as being the general rule with black pipe lines - I would assume the transition from black pipe to CSST would be the same since it is a threaded fitting. Fittings are where leaks happen they don't want them permanently enclosed - not even a coupling.

I myself would rather have a concealed black pipe fitting than to have even one inch of CSST in my house - but that is just my dislike of the CSST speaking here.

resistance

Hurk is correct to say accessibility is not required!!! I say lets look at 250.68 (A) Ex2 >>>Which proves me wrong. I also can recall installing a #8 cu jumper from a pump motor to a cold water pipe (used it to interconnect with other grounding electrodes).

Your thoughts?

Last edited:

resistance

My last to say Hurk is correct is on the subject of the Hydro Tub. Not The CSST. As I believe we covered this above.

kwired

Electron manager
Hurk is correct to say accessibility is not required!!! I say lets look at 250.68 (A) Ex2 >>>Which proves me wrong. I also can recall installing a #8 cu jumper from a pump motor to a cold water pipe (used it to interconnect with other grounding electrodes).

Your thoughts?

250.68 is in the grounding electrode / grounding electrode conductor section.

Unless you were referred to comply with this section by another it does not apply.

The best thing I have found is 250.104 (B). Other metal piping.