Cell Sites

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jlmyers82

Hello, I am a new Electrical Contractor from Florida. I have my unlimited here in florida. My question is? Is there any one in here that may be able to help me with Cell Sites. I have a great oppertunity to do a few but have no experiance in doing them, let alone estimating them. If any one could help i would appreciate it. Thank You

Joe Myers
Others Electric, Inc.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Hello, I am a new Electrical Contractor from Florida. I have my unlimited here in florida. My question is? Is there any one in here that may be able to help me with Cell Sites. I have a great oppertunity to do a few but have no experiance in doing them, let alone estimating them. If any one could help i would appreciate it. Thank You

Joe Myers
Others Electric, Inc.

I am amazed that a cell phone company would allow a complete neophyte to wire up a cell tower.

qcroanoke

Sometimes I don't know if I'm the boxer or the bag
Occupation
Sorta retired........
Out here it's usually electricians doing the service and feeds to the boxes and the cell guys doing the rest.

Exactly. Most cell buildings will be built in a factory and shipped to site. All you should have to do is the service.
READ what the specs say about your responsibilities! Grounding is something that if you don't know what is expected of you will bite you hard and deep! They ground everything!!!!!!!!! Fence posts, tower legs, door frames , air conditioners, wave guides and on and on. In other words if it doesn't move they ground it!
Do not think it will be a cakewalk. Try to make sure there is no grounding already done before you do the service if it is underground. Lots of ground wires underground running to the ground ring.
Oh! and if you do the grounding make sure to cover everything you do before days end. Not that that will stop a copper thief....

Last edited:

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member