Relative size and Arc Flash Hazards of 50 Hz versus 60 Hz transformers at same KVA

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
For arc flash studies, to compare differences in 50Hz transformers vs. 60Hz, you only have to compare the transformer impedances.

If the 50Hz xformer and the 60Hz xformer have the same impedance (assuming same voltage and KVA), then wouldn't the arc flashes be very close to the same?
That was the assumption that I started with. And I have not seen anything to change that, although I am far from an expert on the subject. Hence the search for answers to that question also in this thread.
There will be more energy stored in the magnetized core of the 50Hz transformer since the integrated flux will be higher at the same voltage, if that has any effect. But I am guessing that the majority of the incident energy will be fed through from the primary.

Sahib

Besoeker & Golddigger:

You two provided excellent explanations. :thumbsup:

Thanks.

From your explanations, it is clear that the 50hz operation of 60hz transformer is not possible at the same KVA.

But B does not even concede no load operation of 60hz transformer at 50hz.,

To see if he is right, it is required to know various values from the B/H curve of a typical iron core of the transformer. Since there is a 20% increase in flux density for 50hz operation of 60hz transformer, the corresponding increase in magnetising current may be found from those values and so the feasibility of 50hz operation of 60hz transformer at no load may be ascertained.

My guess is that the transformer would operate close to full load in that condition.

Cheers.

Sahib

B:
Additional information for you to work out, if you are pleased to do so:

A modern transformer has typical core flux density(B) of 1.5T at field intensity (H) of 3kA-t/m

The no-load current is typically 5%.