Kirk Key Double ended swichgear

Status
Not open for further replies.

bowhunter4life

Can anybody tell me where I may find the NEC requirement where a Kirk Key is required? Let say we have two utility feeds from seperate transformers 480 volts to a single 2500 amp switch gear. As I see it, only signage is required to protect someone from energizing both ends.

ThX Mike

iwire

Staff member
Key interlocks are a design issue. They are not required by the NEC.

This seems very odd that the NEC would allow just signage to prevent a potentially huge fault.

If I was an inspector I might cite 110.3(A) and let the EC decide what method would prevent a fault.

templdl

This seems very odd that the NEC would allow just signage to prevent a potentially huge fault.

If I was an inspector I might cite 110.3(A) and let the EC decide what method would prevent a fault.

I've never submitted a proposal and/or built a double ended either LV or MV switchgear where key interlocks were not provided. I would think that to not provide double ended swgr with out them would be highly negligent and with almost all certainty would be subject to a mega lawsuit should an incident occur because they were not included in the design.
It's something that you does do as a matter of good practice.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
I've never submitted a proposal and/or built a double ended either LV or MV switchgear where key interlocks were not provided.
You have led somewhat of a sheltered life.:D

I have seen several installations where the customer wants a 'make before break' closed transition transfer.

As long as the two sources are set up for paralleling (e.g. synched and phased) and rated correctly there is not much of an issue.
I do often recommend monitoring relaying for these applications.

What dothe NEC and NFPA 70E say about being qualified?

puckman

SWITCHGEAR LABEL QUESTION

SWITCHGEAR LABEL QUESTION