How to size a 480 to 240/120V Transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodoboy

Hello all,

I am still learning as I go and have a good opportunity to size a transformer and wires for the first time. I have size wires before, but not for the primary side wires.

Can you please provide NEC section or some sizing instructions on how to size for transformer and primary side wiring:

Primary Source Specs:

-coming from our MCC
-480V 3 phase 60HZ

Secondary Load
- See attachment
-120/240V Single phase 60 amp power panel. 4 wire.

Transformer will be mounted 1000ft from MCC 480V power source and about 20ft from 240/120 panel.

This is Nonhazardous area installation.

Questions:
1. Can you please tell me where in the NEC I can read on how to size the transformer? Or steps please?
2. What calculations do I need to perform the size the wire and fuse coming from the MCC 480V primary side.

Thank you very much

Attachments

• Screenshot_6.jpg
    Screenshot_6.jpg
    7.6 KB · Views: 34

kwired

Electron manager
Hello all,

I am still learning as I go and have a good opportunity to size a transformer and wires for the first time. I have size wires before, but not for the primary side wires.

Can you please provide NEC section or some sizing instructions on how to size for transformer and primary side wiring:

Primary Source Specs:

-coming from our MCC
-480V 3 phase 60HZ

Secondary Load
- See attachment
-120/240V Single phase 60 amp power panel. 4 wire.

Transformer will be mounted 1000ft from MCC 480V power source and about 20ft from 240/120 panel.

This is Nonhazardous area installation.

Questions:
1. Can you please tell me where in the NEC I can read on how to size the transformer? Or steps please?
2. What calculations do I need to perform the size the wire and fuse coming from the MCC 480V primary side.

Thank you very much