320amp vs 400amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

jumper

From what I've been told. It is technically a 320A meter socket, but people install 2 - 200A panels off of it all the time...resulting in the "400A" name. Not saying that is correct, just passing along the information. Also...I am still an apprentice...so there's that... :blink:

Hang tight, maybe we can explain this to you.

Welcome to the forum.

Carultch

I am not. I am trying to answer.

If I am unclear I can try and explain differently.

I'm trying to ask how to add up non-continuous loads, when using a 320A meter socket. Do non-continuous loads add up to 320A? Or do non-continuous loads add up to 400A?

It is my understanding that continuous loads, when using a 320A meter socket, can add up to 320A, and then multiply by 125% to determine the 400A breaker and 400A service. I also understand that most serviceequipment is in general, sized by 100% non-continuous plus 125% continuous. Please correct me if I am wrong.

In otherwords, is 320A "continuous duty" rated equipment suitable for all applications where a 400A standard OCPD would be used?

Last edited:

iwire

Staff member
I'm trying to ask how to add up non-continuous loads, when using a 320A meter socket. Do non-continuous loads add up to 320A? Or do non-continuous loads add up to 400A?

It is my understanding that continuous loads, when using a 320A meter socket, can add up to 320A, and then multiply by 125% to determine the 400A breaker and 400A service. Please correct me if I am wrong.

There is nothing different in sizing a meter socket from a panel or service.

Add all the non-continuos loads up.

Add all the continuos loads up and multiply by 1.25.

Take the result of that multiplication and add it to the first figure, if the resulting sum is 400 amps or less a 320 class meter is fine.

jumper