1 day job turning into a 2 day job - question about adjusting the original price

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shak180

Occupation
Electrician
So long story short I've been working for myself for the past 5 months. My estimates are based on how many hours I figure a job will take to do, material costs + a 20% mark up, and fuel costs.

I got a message on Yelp for a Enel X Juicebox EV charger install. I went out to take a look at the job, I measured the perimeter of the house to get an idea of how much wire I would need and my measurements came out to 110ft to get into the subpanel from the EV charger location. The plan was to run the circuit in the crawl space. The customer asked for a ballpark estimate that he wouldn't hold me to and I should have followed the advice I was given to not give ballpark estimates but I foolishly did and said probably around $1,000. I told him I would send him a formal estimate the following day.

After adding all the material costs my estimate was $1,500. The customer emailed me saying he thought it would be closer to $1,000 and I responded that the prices of materials had increased since the last time I purchased these materials and I hadn't taken into consideration all the parts and pieces that were necessary for the install until I had more time to think about the install. He agreed to the $1,500 and we scheduled the work.

I go down into the crawl space and after crawling through the labyrinth I find out that I can't crawl to the area where the electrical panel is located because cast iron pipes and ducting are blocking the access hole to get to that section of the crawl space.