C1D2 for R&D LPG Engine Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

dont_blow_up

Occupation
mechanical engineer
Hello all. I really love this forum and have anonymously used it for years, but this is my first post. Go easy on me since I'm just a mechanical engineer who happens to also do electrical stuff sometimes.

Scenario 1 (fixed equipment):

I have a C1D2 classified area, which is an entire room in the building. In the C1D2 area, there is various process control equipment (sensors, solenoids, etc.) that all gets controlled with a PLC. The room is basically a weird LPG engine test chamber. I'd like to get confirmation of my understanding of the NEC as it relates to the low voltage control field wiring.

Options for field wiring:
  • Use ex proof process control equipment -> conduit run out to the non-classified area with conduit seals -> wire into the PLC enclosure in the non-hazardous area (I believe this meets NEC requirements)
  • Use ex proof process control equipment -> conduit run to an ex proof junction box inside the classified area -> listed connectors in the classified area -> PLTC-ER cable route from the connector in the hazardous area to the non-hazardous area -> wire into the PLC enclosure in the non-hazardous area (I believe this meets NEC requirements)
    • Option 1 for passing through the wall between the C1D2 and non-haz locations: route the PLTC-ER in conduit with a seal through the wall (I believe this meets NEC requirements)
    • Option 2 for passing through the wall between the C1D2 and non-haz locations: route the PLTC-ER through a fire rated passthrough through the wall