120/240V, 3 phase , 4 wires high leg delta calculations

Status
Not open for further replies.

ghpham288

Hi All. I'm new to the forum here. I'm studying electrical engineering and having a hard time understanding the 120/240V high leg delta calculations and hoping the senior members here can help. I have the following loads below:

240 3 phase motor loads total = 38 kva
240 1 phase kitchen loads total = 21 kva
120 1 phase lighting loads total = 9 kva
120 1 phase kitchen loads total = 14 kva
120 1 phase general receptacle loads total = 9 kva

B is the stinger leg.

I've calculated the maximum feeder load to be 194 amps applying 1.25% for lighting continuous loads, and 65% for the kitchen load. Not sure if I did this correctly? Can a member please help?

kwired

Electron manager
more details could change how this gets calculated.

I assume this is non dwelling application.

What is the largest motor? did you already factor in 125% of largest motor in the motor loads?

Which loads are able to use 220.56? Sort of assuming that is where you came up with the 65% factor you did use. Are any of the three phase motors able to fit in what is covered by 220.56?

ghpham288

more details could change how this gets calculated.

I assume this is non dwelling application.

What is the largest motor? did you already factor in 125% of largest motor in the motor loads?

Which loads are able to use 220.56? Sort of assuming that is where you came up with the 65% factor you did use. Are any of the three phase motors able to fit in what is covered by 220.56?

Thank you for your follow.

Yes, this is indeed a commercial space, a coffee shop indeed with some cooking equipment (ovens, blenders). All the load I have given is based on diversity factors as allowed in the code for lighting (continuous load), mechanical equipment (125% of the largest motor), and 65% diversity factor for kitchen equipment.

Julius Right

Occupation
Electrical Engineer Power Station Physical Design Retired