1880's house ungrounded recp's

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I got a message from a buddy. He bought a house from the 1880's, and takes possession of it next week. He want's to change out all the ungrounded recp's. I was worried I would have to rewire his whole damn house and did a quick forum search and saw that I can replace them with a properly labeled GFCI. The GFCI will still function properly correct?

The other problem is that somewhere along the way, the cold water pipe burst and they replaced it with a piece of hydraulic hose. So he's going to fix that as well. I was just curious of how much of the old pipe was still in contact with the ground. I believe it needs to be 10' correct?

My code book is at work, and I am a industrial/commercial electrician. I don't do much house work, mainly for family and friends.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
GFCIs do not need a ground to work and are recognized as a way to replace ungrounded 2 prong receptacles in the NEC. You can feed through to other 3 prong outlets provided they are labelled "GFCI protected, no equipment ground". The stickers usually come inside the box.

templdl

GFCIs do not need a ground to work and are recognized as a way to replace ungrounded 2 prong receptacles in the NEC. You can feed through to other 3 prong outlets provided they are labelled "GFCI protected, no equipment ground". The stickers usually come inside the box.

I agree but without a ground I don,'t believe the tesdt button will function though.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
The test button that is built in works fine since it uses an internal resistor to bypass some current around the sensing coil.
But a plug-in tester will not work since it does not have access to the line side of the GFCI.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
I agree but without a ground I don,'t believe the tesdt button will function though.