AIC ratings and available fault current...

Status
Not open for further replies.

John L

Recently had a plan reviewer ask me for "AIC ratings and available fault current" for a small commercial job we are doing. i didnt have a clue, but contacted the power company to find out that the F.C. is 15,660amps for this property. We only have a 600a service so I guess we are OK there.

What is meant by the request for "AIC ratings"? Do they want the manufacturers listed AIC for each proposed new panel and all the breakers contained therein? Or would this be something else?

I am a rookie, Help is appreciated.

bob

Yes. What does SS mean? And while you are checking that out check out this
site http://www.maintenanceresources.com/referencelibrary/ezine/eleccircbreak2.html

John L said:
Recently had a plan reviewer ask me for "AIC ratings and available fault current" for a small commercial job we are doing. i didn't have a clue, but contacted the power company to find out that the F.C. is 15,660amps for this property. We only have a 600a service so I guess we are OK there.
You can not guess. You must know its ok. The service rating of 600 amps
does not guarantee you are safe.

John L said:
What is meant by the request for "AIC ratings"? Do they want the manufacturers listed AIC for each proposed new panel and all the breakers contained therein? Or would this be something else?

AIC Ampere Interrupting Capacity. The MFG does indeed mark their gear with an AIC rating. Its some ones job to make sure its matches the available fault current from the utility transformer.

hmspe

Occupation
PE
John L said:
Recently had a plan reviewer ask me for "AIC ratings and available fault current" for a small commercial job we are doing.