Buchanan smashing

Status
Not open for further replies.

gndrod

Sorry didn't see you there Marc. The four tang crimpers originated in Aerospace and are too expensive for Newbies. There is depth setting issues that cause loose bonding unless the tool-die is adjustable or size changed.
I agree with you on getting into the depths of the box. out-of-touch

mdshunk

gndrod said:
The four tang crimpers originated in Aerospace and are too expensive for Newbies.
Oh come, now. The pair in my picture I've had for nearly 20 years, purchased pretty much when I was a newbie. I just looked them up, and they're 40 bucks now. Right on par with what a new pair of nine's cost now. I just had to buy a new pair of Klein needle-nose pliers a few weeks ago, and they were 36 bucks. Most newbies own a pair of those. Adjustment? Bah, humbug. They hold two conductors as tightly as they hold 10. They have an 'A' and a 'B' setting, to accommodate both the small and large crimp sleeves, that I've pictured in my photo. I have no special issue with whatever method a guy wants to use. They're all legal. There's nothing wrong with crimp sleeves.

gndrod

I agree with you on using crimp sleeves, but using copper depends on the grade the manufacturer makes. Some are almost bronze and crack. You are using a close tolerance crimper and that makes a difference in the result. BTW a pair of Buchanan's Mil qualified in 1972 cost about what you mentioned. I am surprised the price has not changed today. Probably made in China now.

iwire

Staff member
Marc the only crimp sleeves I have personal experience with where made of light weight copper, when used with 12 or 10 AWG the conductors seem to be stronger than the crimp, once you flex the grounds into and out of the box the crimp seems to loosens up.

I am more than willing to believe that some crimps are made of better copper or steel ones are better, I just have never run into any like that.

mdshunk

iwire said: