Busway tap with box

Status
Not open for further replies.

dm9289

Industrial Maintenance Electrician
Occupation
Industrial process repair/ maintenance Electrician
I work in a factory (industrial mill) while doing overhead crane inspection I seen something I thought to be odd.
A large box below the bus and surrounding it with a square hole cut out for wire entry.
This is older bus is there some provision where this could be code compliant. In my opinion no way.

Thank you

Attachments

• 7FCF1483-1D29-4822-967E-9CE105F0CC93.jpeg
    7FCF1483-1D29-4822-967E-9CE105F0CC93.jpeg
    275.6 KB · Views: 13
  • B5D14B7F-3B38-4AF8-8584-C32844623416.jpeg
    B5D14B7F-3B38-4AF8-8584-C32844623416.jpeg
    210.8 KB · Views: 15

jap

Occupation
Electrician
Hard picture for me to understand.

Looks like a transition from a ladder tray run to a j- box to me.

Regardless, seeing the exposed terminals and the heater hose insulators I would agree with your assessment of the situation, :)

jap>

dm9289

Occupation
Hard picture for me to understand.

Looks like a transition from a ladder tray run to a j- box to me.

Regardless, seeing the exposed terminals and the heater hose insulators I would agree with your assessment of the situation, :)

jap>
Yes ladder below bus and a large Jbox surrounding bus with square hole cut in and hose protection.

Yep I know older busway taps might be hard to get but that looked terrible.

What’s odd is that 1200amp ckt was put in by a contractor and passed inspection on breaker directly below 20ft.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
This looks like a poorly made field entry into a standard busway tap box or a busway enclosed transformer tap. At least the conductors should be secured so they don't move during a short circuit.

jap

Occupation
Electrician
Yes ladder below bus and a large Jbox surrounding bus with square hole cut in and hose protection.