C.E.C 300.4 Protection against Physical Damage.

Occupation
Retired Building Inspector
I am new to site but hope this is a great area to get answers and others opinions. CEC 300.4 calls out protection required, if within 1 1/4 from framing edge member. This is in the Code. No inspectors call out protection at the back of the boxes that are nearer the 1 1/4 " to edge. Some boxes come within a 1/4 to 1/2 inch from edges then you have the wiring coming into and out of the box, and no protection. Why is this missed ? I install protection on the house I build now, but my inspector thinks its a great idea but does not enforce and no consistency at the frame inspection even after I show and explain to him the requirement, its only " Great idea....but no one does it". Is anyone out here call for this protection during the Frame Inspection process ? I greatly appreciate feedback on this Code section.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Unless it's under the roof boxes do not have the protection requirement that cables and raceways do.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
I see you're talking about where the cable or raceway enters the box. I don't guess there's enough instances of damage to warrant a code requirement.

Occupation
Unless it's under the roof boxes do not have the protection requirement that cables and raceways do.
But it is on framing inside of a house, and falls within the criteria of the required protection. Wiring is protected within 1 1/4 " of framing member edge with nail plates when passing through bores or bottom/top plates. The back of plastic installed boxes needs to be protected because the wiring going into and out of the box is very close, closer then the distance of 1 1/4 ". One City in Bay Area calls for this protection and I find no other Jurisdictions do.

Occupation
I see you're talking about where the cable or raceway enters the box. I don't guess there's enough instances of damage to warrant a code requirement.