Chiller Breaker sizing

Mumbaigirl

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hello, I am very new to this:

I have a 440-ton quad compressor chiller unit we are renting and below are the RLA and FLA details:
460V/60HZ
System 1 : Compressor 1: RLA= 180A; Condensor 1 Fans FLA = 2.8A each for 6 fans
System 2 : Compressor 2: RLA= 180A; Condensor 2 Fans FLA = 2.8A each for 5 fans
System 3 : Compressor 3: RLA= 150A; Condensor 3 Fans FLA = 2.8A each for 5 fans
System 4 : Compressor 4: RLA= 150A; Condensor 4 Fans FLA = 2.8A each for 5 fans
System 1/3 : Control KVA = 2.4
System 2/4 : Control KVA = 1.8

Per the cutsheet, RLA for the chiller ONLY is 763, the MCA is 763A and the recommended fuse/circuit breaker rating is 1000A when you run the entire system.

I have an 800A service available (disconnect switch) for this chiller and I am trying to figure out if that will be enough if I run only 3 compressors. (they tell me they need about 300-350ton capacity and not the entire 440 ton):

Assuming I can only run compressor 1, 2 and 3 (they have individual disconnects) , can I calculate the maximum overcurrent protection as :
2.25*180 + 6*2.8 +180 + 5* 2.8 + 150 + 5* 2.8 = 780A + some control RLA = 800 approx. and use my 800A breaker to feed this?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Do the compressor start across-the-line or by a softstart of VFD ?

Mumbaigirl

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Do the compressor start across-the-line or by a softstart of VFD ?
It has a VFD.

The cutsheet says the system inrush current is less than the RLA becuase of YORKS Variable speed drive technology. The typical starting currents per compressor are: 23A @ 460/60/3

Eddie702

Licensed Electrician
Occupation
Electrician
Your MCA to run compressors 1, 2 and 3, 16 condenser fans and 2.4KVA for controls totals up to an MCA of 605 amps. 800 amp disconnect should be fine as they don't all start at one time and are staged on.

At least that is what I came up with

Eddie702