Common trip required for d/w & disposal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky349

I recently did a kitchen remodel in which I used a multi wire branch circuit to feed the dishwasher and garbage disposal. The inspector turned down the job citing that a common trip breaker was required to feed the dishwasher and disposal. When I inquired why, his response was "I don't do this for fun, I do this for a living". No electrician I work with has ever heard of this requirement. Our company doesn't do much residential work so is there such a requirement? Perhaps in the South Florida Building Code?

volt101

Re: Common trip required for d/w & disposal?

Was the dishwasher and disposal cord and plug connected and the receptacle that they plug into is a split wired duplex receptacle?

The common trip, however, still confuses me as to why he would require it. Maybe it was just a common handle required?

Jim

ryan_618

An identified (2005) or approved (2002) handle tie would satisfy this. See 210.4(B), 210.7(B) and 240.20(A) and (B)(1).

jwelectric

210.4 Multiwire Branch Circuits.
(B) Devices or Equipment. Where a multiwire branch circuit supplies more than one device or equipment on the same yoke, a means shall be provided to disconnect simultaneously all ungrounded conductors supplying those devices or equipment at the point where the branch circuit originates.
A handle tie mignt not fulfill this requirement.
:)

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor

Originally posted by jwelectric:
210.4 Multiwire Branch Circuits.
(B) Devices or Equipment. Where a multiwire branch circuit supplies more than one device or equipment on the same yoke, a means shall be provided to disconnect simultaneously all ungrounded conductors supplying those devices or equipment at the point where the branch circuit originates.
A handle tie mignt not fulfill this requirement.