Copper Clad Aluminum NM vs Copper NM for Small Scale Multifamily

Occupation
Architect, CGC
Hello Everyone,

I'm an Architect / GC and we're working on a small scale multifamily community made up of single story duplex and quadplex buildings. The largest unit is approximately 1,350 SF. The basis of design for the electrical wiring is standard copper NM, however our EC is proposing that we substitute CCA NM as it represents a "substantial" savings across the project. Unfortunately, I have no experience with CCA. From what I am finding online, its much softer and breaks more easily than copper, but it can carry more current.

What are your thoughts on CCA NM? Are there any safety concerns that might offset the potential cost benefit? Is it something you would be willing to specify for small scale residential? Would you put it in your own home?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Unfortunately, I have no experience with CCA. From what I am finding online, its much softer and breaks more easily than copper, but it can carry more current.
It carries less current for the same size copper conductors. Typically you need to use conductors one size larger than the standard #14 and #12 copper conductors for 15 and 20 amp circuits. I've never used it and since it's only become popular recently I wouldn't use it it my own home.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
The biggest issue right now is the wire connectors...as far as I know, the only wire connectors that have the "CC" rating that is required for copper-clad aluminum conductors is the one sold by the manufacturer of copper-clad aluminum wire.
The product guide information for switches and receptacles both say that those 15 and 20 amp wiring devices marked for use with copper conductors are also suitable for use with copper-clad aluminum.

Birken Vogt

At the moment, it appears they only sell direct to approved contractors. So there is no internet pricing available.