Electric Dryer Leg A drops to 0V Leg B spikes at 240V when start pushed

Status
Not open for further replies.

lummerman5k

New User
I am in the military and came back from a month overseas and my 3 prong electric dryer would not start. I am an electronics technician (radios) so I am quite experienced with electronics and theory (although DC is my strength).

I checked all the routine no start issues, door switch, start switch and thermal resistor all have continuity when isolated. I checked voltages at the receptacle and on the distribution block of the dryer hot to hot-240V, neutral to hot A-118V, neutral to hot B-123V and nothing would happen when start was pressed. I hit start and tried to spun the drum, nothing. I ended up pulling the front panel completely off and removing the drum and checked that I have 118V on M4 of the motor switch. In order to check the motor I created a test cable from an extension cord and (cut the female end off and stripped the ends) and connected it to the dryer power distribution on the hot side that controls the motor (not the heater) and neutral then plugged it into a standard 120 wall outlet and the dryer started up like a champ so I knew the motor was good. I then plugged the original cable back in and tried to start it and it didnt work. I then opened the motor switch and the voltage all looked good. I then manually shorted the relay for heating circuit on the motor switch and and the coil heated up. I then ohmed out the timing switch and it was good.