Grounded subpanel

Dengineer

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hello All,

Quick question about grounding. Pleaser refer to the image below for for more information.

I am an electrical engineer and would like some help understanding the grounding in the image below.

This is an parament in a 24 floor residential building. The space has a subpanel that's fed from a main breaker on another floor coming off a sub-meter in the building. There is no conduit running from the junction box entering the tenant space to the sub-panel. The main feeders are open to air and there is not grounding conductor or grounding bar, just a neutral. Other then not being code compliant is this a danger to the tenant? could it cause electric shock?

20230921_094241.jpg

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
is this a danger to the tenant? could it cause electric shock?

If the tenant were to contact an appliance or anything else electrical that gets its ground from that panel and something like a water faucet, yes, there is the real possibility of a shock.

There is a reason that the CODE requires an EGC feeding a sub panel and that's it. It seems you know that.
there is not grounding conductor or grounding bar, just a neutral

-Hal

Another C10

Electrical Contractor 1987 - present
Occupation
Electrician NEC 2020
maybe the subfeed conduit is the grounded path if so, put the grounding wires on a separate ground bar threaded onto the panel enclosure.

Dengineer

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
maybe the subfeed conduit is the grounded path if so, put the grounding wires on a separate ground bar threaded onto the panel enclosure.
Yes that would be the normal case, but here there is no hard metal conduit that would create that ground coming from the main breaker enclosure downstairs. They have a junctions box on the floor where the feeder come up and from there to the panel there is no conduit. It's just conductors open to air feeding the panel.

Dengineer

Occupation