Grounding Satellite Dish in Apartment

Status
Not open for further replies.

jreamer

Is there any possible way to ground a dish in an apartment without the wiring leaving the patio? Our apartment requires we meet NEC guidlines, Manufacturer guidlines and we cannot leave our exclusive use area. I filed a petition with the FCC, but they are giving me the impression they dont want to set a precedent of allowing renters to leave their exclusive use area. It seems these regulations make it impossible to get a dish. Any suggestions?

jreamer

Re: Grounding Satellite Dish in Apartment

I am not an electrician or anything. So is my option to use a ground rod? If so, does it have to be bonded to the building's ground? Can I assume the building has no ground if they will not let me use it? The apartment will not let me use the building ground which is 5 ft from my patio.

jwelectric

810.21 Grounding Conductors ? Receiving Stations.
(E) Run in Straight Line. The grounding conductor for an antenna mast or antenna discharge unit shall be run in as straight a line as practicable from the mast or discharge unit to the grounding electrode.
(F) Electrode. The grounding conductor shall be connected as follows:
(1) To the nearest accessible location on the following:
a. The building or structure grounding electrode system as covered in 250.50
b. The grounded interior metal water piping systems, within 1.52 m (5 ft) from its point of entrance to the building, as covered in 250.52
c. The power service accessible means external to the building, as covered in 250.94
d. The metallic power service raceway
e. The service equipment enclosure, or
f. The grounding electrode conductor or the grounding electrode conductor metal enclosures

petersonra

Occupation
engineer

if they won't let you connect to their grounding electrode, I think you are out of luck.

[ October 21, 2005, 08:06 AM: Message edited by: petersonra ]

pierre