Hairnets in a HRC 0 situation

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in the dairy industry and we are required to ware hairnets and beardnets (spunbound nonwoven). Most of the production equipment is HRC 0. The electricians do open the cabinets to troubleshoot with meters but any work is performed in a nonenergized state. NFPA 70E 130.C.3 does discuss hairnets but not the HRC where they must be arc rated. In most other situations 70E is very clear in what PPE is required at what HRC level but vague enough here as to pose this question. Does one have to wear an arc rated hairnet and/or beardnet in an HRC0 situation?

To further complicate things we also have maintenance technicians that have to access electrical enclosures on the lines to troubleshoot pneumatic valves that are in the electrical enclosures. Everyone has had arc flash and electrical safety training and the maintenance technicians are limited to entry in HRC0 enclosures only.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

zog

I work in the dairy industry and we are required to ware hairnets and beardnets (spunbound nonwoven). Most of the production equipment is HRC 0. The electricians do open the cabinets to troubleshoot with meters but any work is performed in a nonenergized state. NFPA 70E 130.C.3 does discuss hairnets but not the HRC where they must be arc rated. In most other situations 70E is very clear in what PPE is required at what HRC level but vague enough here as to pose this question. Does one have to wear an arc rated hairnet and/or beardnet in an HRC0 situation?

To further complicate things we also have maintenance technicians that have to access electrical enclosures on the lines to troubleshoot pneumatic valves that are in the electrical enclosures. Everyone has had arc flash and electrical safety training and the maintenance technicians are limited to entry in HRC0 enclosures only.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Why not just use arc rated hairnets?