HO wants to help

Status
Not open for further replies.

SiddMartin

So I go over to the HO's house with my proposal for his basement remod, I was referred from his neighbor who was extremly happy w/ my work but also has a bigger wallet.

I broke down the proposal to him and he didn't expect it to be as much as it was. He asked if there was any way to lower it, and I replied that I could not lower my quality of work. He then asked if he could wire in all the recessed lights, he said he had done some before. Can you believe that?? What an insult, I told him for liability reasons that is not an option. If he wants a DIY job, then thats fine, but don't waste my time. I'm a professional

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
You gotta stand your ground. Put value to your knowlege and work. Te only thing I'd let the Ho do is dig trench , install lamps, and demo work.

khixxx

I only would let the HO tell me were he wanted the ceiling fan. I think you handled that good. Do you accept credit cards? you could have pushed that more?

Ken

ohm

Since I work alone having the HO as a helper is fine with me. I work on T & M and he is there to answer questions and often expand the scope of the job. There is never a question like "are you done yet?'.

Every one of these jobs gets me two others and we become great buddies.

wamegojim

ohm said:
Since I work alone having the HO as a helper is fine with me. I work on T & M and he is there to answer questions and often expand the scope of the job. There is never a question like "are you done yet?'.

Sounds like an accident waiting to happen. Oh my baaack...hope you had workman's comp.

SiddMartin

ohm said:

I also work alone, but just the idea of leaving the job one day and coming back the next and all the lights are wired....I wouldn't be able to sleep, maybe one has a loose connection.... possible fire hazard.. not worth the stress risk.