Is this a clearance violation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

retire09

I think technically it is a clearance violation if you have less than 30" between the wall and the transfer switch.
As an inspector, I would not make that call.
If someone does, you can move the disconnect out from the wall to be even with the transfer switch on the right..

Hendrix

I think technically it is a clearance violation if you have less than 30" between the wall and the transfer switch.
As an inspector, I would not make that call.
If someone does, you can move the disconnect out from the wall to be even with the transfer switch on the right..

30 " or the size of the equipment, which ever is larger. 110.26(A)2

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
What is the depth of the cabinet of the main and the depth of the transfer switch.
The 30" requirement for the switch can overlap the TS if the depth difference is not greater than 6"

retire09

Where is the 6" difference in depth allowance in the code?
Is this another code change that I am not aware of?

david

I think its a stretch as the section refers to height not width -- As code I would say its a violation - With a little planning the situation would not be a problem -- there may be room for reasonable access here though.

If there is 30 inches of width in front of the equipment how is it a violation. 30 in widths for the equipment are allowed to overlap each other

retire09

The depth of the transfer switch is encroaching into the working clearance and 110.26(a)(3) only allows for the 6" overlap above or below the equipment. I still think that technically it is a violation but I would hope no inspector would call that.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician