NM/romex ground pigtails

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm pretty new to romex since I started off working in an area that doesn't allow it. Making up boxes with multiple cables, the guys I work with twist the bare grounds together and clip short all but the one or two to hit devices. I've also seen crimps used here.

Are there any other ways to do this? I feel like clipping the wire back that far eventually leads to something too short to work with.

How do you like to make up boxes with NM/bare EGCs?

Cletis

That's pretty much how i've done it for 30yrs. It's easy carrying around a bunch of small copper crimps in a pouch. Some guys like green wire nuts. I really don't know many more options for romex?? Commercial another story..

John120/240

Twist them all together with a red wire nut & tails for each device. Or if you choose only one ground tail long enough to reach all devices in your box. Or sometimes on old work where the wires are already short I use a Wago nut. Wagos come in different sizes two to ten ?? ports.

Attachments

• Wago Nut.jpg
    Wago Nut.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 1

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
On all of my wiring, I prefer wire nuts with a pigtail to the device. My wire nuts do all the twisting.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I'm pretty new to romex since I started off working in an area that doesn't allow it. Making up boxes with multiple cables, the guys I work with twist the bare grounds together and clip short all but the one or two to hit devices. I've also seen crimps used here.

Simply twisting without some type of connector is not permitted, is that what they're doing?

Simply twisting without some type of connector is not permitted, is that what they're doing?

Yep. That's what they've always done so far since I've been working there. I guess that's what the green nuts are for huh? Or the crimps... Is this in section 250 of NEC somewhere, or 334 (correct?) for NM wiring methods?

MasterTheNEC