Piece Rates

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an electrical contractor in So Cal and in light of the recent downturn of the housing economy, I have cut my piece prices. We pay about $.23/ft2 for rough and about $.12 for finish. Am i losing job after job because those are too high or are all of my competitors just going to be out of business in the near future? We are one of the largest Electrical subs in So Cal and I can't seem to get a single family job in the last 6 mos. Condos are doing ok howeve. Let me know if I am underpaying or overpaying. Our overhead is already pretty low too so it isn't that either.

peter d

Your prices make me want to puke. And the fact that you're losing work even with prices like that makes me want to puke even more.

Isn't California one of the most expensive places to live and run a business in the nation? Last I heard you have among the highest workmen's comp rates to deal with, among other things. You may be right...your competition might not be around for much longer.

acwservices

SoCalElectricalContractor said:
I am an electrical contractor in So Cal and in light of the recent downturn of the housing economy, I have cut my piece prices. We pay about $.23/ft2 for rough and about $.12 for finish. Am i losing job after job because those are too high or are all of my competitors just going to be out of business in the near future? We are one of the largest Electrical subs in So Cal and I can't seem to get a single family job in the last 6 mos. Condos are doing ok howeve. Let me know if I am underpaying or overpaying. Our overhead is already pretty low too so it isn't that either.

If I understand correctly, you are charging 23 cent per sf to rough, and 12 cent per sf for trim out? Please tell me I have misread your quote.

ceknight

.....We pay about $.23/ft2 for rough and about $.12 for finish......Let me know if I am underpaying or overpaying. Our overhead is already pretty low too so it isn't that either.