PVC As A Riser?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TeddyAdkins

Occupation
Industrial Electrician
I work as a steel mill electrician but I bought my first house and it currently has a 100 Amp screw in fuse service. I'm going to upgrade it to a 200A service and have bought the materials but I've nevee personally done a service before. Some guys I work with have installed many services and are going to help me but we're not positive if I can use the PVC I purchased going up from the socket to the loop.

I bought aluminum 4/0 and 2 inch sch 40 PVC. The incoming wires are being supported by an anchor/insulator in the brick so the PVC doesn't need to hold the load of the conductors.

So can I run 2 inch sch 40 PVC up my house or do I need emt?

(The hub for the meter is metal, with a male connector and pipe glue I can use that hub right? Or do I need a plastic hub as well?)

Beaches EE

Occupation
Electrical Engineer / Facilities Manager
The subject of the hub and threads has been on this forum for a while now. That's quite a can of worms. I am not aware of a non-metallic hub for meter sockets.

TeddyAdkins

Occupation
Industrial Electrician
Unless your POCO or local codes say otherwise, PVC is fine. Will last a lot longer than EMT too.

-Hal

What exaclty does POCO stand for and can i find my local codes somewhere besides the inspector not passing it when I'm done?

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
As long as it is not used as a mast and is OK with the POCO and local code. As others said, it is fine NEC wise.
You need to use a PVC weather head or you are going to have bonding compliance issues.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
PVC male adapter with pipe dope on the threads and aluminum composite hub on meter is standard.