Reverse Polarity Bootleg Ground Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmsokol

I'm a technical instructor who teaches sound system installation at churches around the country, but my background is in industrial power and robotics control, and I earned my Master Electricians license in 1978. Over the last 10 years I've heard of many instances of musicians and preachers getting shocked on stage and in baptismal pools, so I'm always teaching about wiring safety for musicians and installers.

However, while drawing up a schematic of how 3-light outlet testers work, I noticed that they miss one really dangerous condition; something I call an RPBG (Reverse Polarity Bootleg Ground), where the Ground and Neutral contacts end up at 120 volts and the Hot contact is at 0 volts. See diagram below. Not to be confused with a CPBG (Correct Polarity Bootleg Ground), RPBG outlets are a very serious shock hazard since the grounds and neutrals are now at 120 volts, while the hot contact is at zero volts. Anything with a grounded power cord plugged into an RPBG outlet will seem to operate normally, but its chassis will be electrified to 120 volts which is extremely dangerous. The RV and Pro-Audio industry calls this a "hot-skin" or "hot-chassis" condition.