Rodent proofing electrical wiring

ericsarratt

Occupation
Utility Contractor, HVAC Service Tech, Septic Installer & Subsurface Operator, Plumber
I am a general contractor (utilities). I have a mouse problem in a 1933 home I am rehabbing. The house is my business office and is also used for tool and equipment storage.

I am considering putting all the electric in PVC or EMT conduit.

I have found very little research on mice burning down houses, but a common statistic I see is rodents are responsible for 20% of all fires in which the cause of the fire was undetermined.

Your thoughts.

After the neighbors home burned down--they said due to squirrels, I got to thinking about putting my wiring in electrical conduit.

I am in the process of redoing all the electrical anyway as it was poorly installed by the previous owner.

I have done the usual mouse trap thing, but they just keep coming.

The lot is fairly woodsy and I know this is contributing to the mouse problem, but I like the lot the way it is.

Thank you for your help and opinions.

Last edited:

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
a common statistic I see is rodents are responsible for 20% of all fires in which the cause of the fire was undetermined.

20% of all fires of which the cause was undetermined were blamed on rodents. Sure, makes sense. :rolleyes:

Regardless, if I had my way Romex would be outlawed. Not just because of rodents, but because it's so easily damaged by screws and over driven staples. But if there were no Romex, what excuse would they have for pushing AFCI breakers?

And yes, have your house wired with armored cable- type AC (the old BX) or MC. I would go with steel armor, no aluminum stuff. No need for conduit. My house was built in 1955 and the original wiring was AC and I wasn't going to change that. All the work I did to this day is all with AC.

-Hal