Transformer Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

iwire

Staff member
Hi all, a friend of mine went on a call for a loud transformer.

It is a K rated 480 delta 208Y/120 transformer, I do not know the size, probably 45 to 75 KVA.

Here are the true RMS readings he got.

Primary

A-B 496 volts
A-C 497 volts
B-C 497 volts

Secondary

A-B 214.8 volts
A-C 214.7 volts
B-C 213.9 volts

Primary

A 15.6 amps
B 18 amps
C 21 amps

Secondary

A 2.4 amps
B 21 amps
C 5.4 amps
N 13.7 amps

I have confidence in my friends ability to use his high quality meters.

He would like to know if these readings suggest any particular problem, something more than 'it's junk'. ;)

[ December 26, 2004, 11:02 AM: Message edited by: iwire ]

bwyllie

Re: Transformer Problem

I am not a trransformer expert but I believe I read somewhere that transformer "hum" can be cause by a small load on the transformer and the hum may go away when the load is increased.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems

Your voltage ratio of 497->215 is okay based on the transformer 480->208 (about 2.3:1), but I would like to know what the secondary line to neutral and line to ground voltages are.

However, your input and output currents seem questionable. The primary currents are not very close to balanced for a delta connection. And, the primary to secondary current in no way reflects the turns ratio of the transformer. Is it possible to measure the currents at different amounts of loading, especially at no load?

And of course, I need to ask if mechanical problems have been eliminated as a source of magnification of normal transformer noise.

captal

Jim, thanks for answering iwire. I'm the guy that went on the call. The transformer in question is a GE K-rated 225 KVA. The secondary line to neutral voltage you are asking for is 118v, line to ground was the same. There were no mechanical problems that I could see.

Al

templdl

"loud transformer" Noise as is heat is relative.