Troubleshooting gas oven

Status
Not open for further replies.

gutierrjg

Hi,Guys I'm trying to fix a residential gas oven.When open the gas the ignition should give me some signal but nothing happend.Could someone give me some advise how to check this.

stickboy1375

gutierrjg said:
Hi,Guys I'm trying to fix a residential gas oven.When open the gas the ignition should give me some signal but nothing happend.Could someone give me some advise how to check this.

I normally would just call a gas guy. :cool: After checking the receptacle had power of course.

electricalperson

gutierrjg said:
Nothing.I'm here is my comfusion.No gas no,no arcing.which one depends of the other?
im pretty sure if the ignitor has a problem, it wont allow the gas to flow. replace the ignitor module and see if that works. im probably wrong since im not an expert of gas ranges

electricalperson

gas_range_components.jpg

heres a diagram i found i dont know if its helpful or not

76nemo

Don't mess with gas.......

Don't mess with gas.......

The oven will receive a mV signal that the pilot is engaged. I won't add to this any further, as I am a FIRM believer that one should NOT mess with an appliance that requires gas to operate. An electrician, and an appliance tech. are two different technicians.

Are you COMPLETELY confident to sign off on such a repair???

electricalperson

76nemo said:
The oven will receive a mV signal that the pilot is engaged. I won't add to this any further, as I am a FIRM believer that one should NOT mess with an appliance that requires gas to operate. An electrician, and an appliance tech. are two different technicians.

i dont like to mess with gas either. i would personally call a repair man for a gas oven since it kind of scares me a little :D

JohnJ0906

76nemo said:

Will your insurance cover this?

No offence, but I know that my knowledge ends at the receptacle. I would be over my head - as it sounds you are.

I would pass this off to an appliance tech.