Twisting wires

Status
Not open for further replies.

mulllet

Why do some people insist on twisting conductors before applying wire nut.The instructions on the box or bag do not mention twisting.As a matter of fact the instructions on a bag of T&B wirenuts specifically state do not pretwist wires.
I have been doing electrical work for 30 years and have used both methods but settled on not twisting.
I have also removed many a wire nut and seen many botched attempts at twisting which led to faulty connections.
I am usually one to try and follow manufacturer instructions.And for troubleshooting, repair and add on, the twisted wires are far more aggravating.
Either method requires attention to detail.

charlie

Re: Twisting wires

Old habits die hard. In the old days when all connections required a solder pot and the connections were fluxed, dipped, and taped, they had to be mechanically sound before soldering. 110.14(B), "Soldered splices shall first be spliced or joined so as to be mechanically and electrically secure without solder and then be soldered." Since old guys teach new guys, the idea of twisting has been passed down and it is difficult to convince the new guys that twisting is wrong since they were taught wrong.

You are right, all it takes is some reading and following the manufacturer's directions. :D

iwire

Staff member

Originally posted by mulllet:
Why do some people insist on twisting conductors before applying wire nut.The instructions on the box or bag do not mention twisting.As a matter of fact the instructions on a bag of T&B wirenuts specifically state do not pretwist wires.
I take exception to that, the wire nut instructions say no PRE-twisting, they do not say no twisting necessary.

The directions I have read ask for two visible twists in sight outside of the wire nut.

Here are the instructions from a box of Ideal wire nuts

1)Turn off Power

2)Strip wires

3)Align any frayed strands